How to stop zoom bombing

How to stop Zoom Bombing

It’s that time in your schedule again. Your boss and coworkers or friends and family have scheduled yet another Zoom meeting. Break out the filters, the notes, the presentations, go get your favorite chair, or find the right spot in the house with the best lighting, then remember to wear clothes on the bottom half of your body, shoo away the children, pets, your significant others and mute your mic. You’re ready for this. Then in a flash, an unexpected visitor jumps onto your zoom call and disrupts the flow of it all.

You’ve been “Zoom Bombed.” Zoom bombing is shorthand for when strangers intrude on others’ meetings on Zoom. In a typical Zoom bombing incident, a teleconferencing session is hijacked by the insertion of material that is lewd, obscene, racist, homophobic, Islamophobic, or anti simitic in nature, typically resulting in the shutdown of the session. So how does one stop it? Traffick Media has the answers.

Here are some helpful tips:

Use a Unique ID and Password for Calls

When you create a Zoom account, the app assigns you a Personal Meeting ID. It’s a numeric code that you can give out to people when you want to meet with them. However, you have a second option, which is to generate a unique ID instead of using your PMI. The unique ID is different every time you schedule a new meeting and comes with a randomly generated password. In turn making the UID inherently more secure. (we suggest this option.)

Lock a Meeting Once It Starts

If you start a meeting and everyone you expected to join has, you can lock the meeting from new participants. While the meeting is running, navigate to the bottom of the screen and click Participants. The Participants panel will open. At the bottom, choose More > Lock Meeting.

Create a Waiting Room

When participants log into the call, they see a Waiting Room screen that you can customize. They can’t get into the call until you, the host, lets them in. You can let people in all at once or one at a time, which means if you see names you don’t recognize in the Waiting Room, you don’t have to let them in at all. The new Security button has an option to enable a Waiting Room after your call has already started. Creating a Waiting Room, in this case, will prevent anyone from popping onto your call unexpectedly.

Make Sure Only the Hosts Can Share Their Screen

Don’t let anyone hijack the screen during a Zoom call. To prevent it, make sure your settings indicate that the only people allowed to share their screens are hosts. You can enable this setting in advance as well as during a call.

In advance, go to the Zoom web portal (not the desktop app) and in the settings navigate to Personal > Settings > In Meeting (Basic) and look for Screen sharing. Check the option that only the host can share.